Our top 10, at a glance.
Choose a chef’s knife for home cooking by its documented blade, handle, care requirements and storage fit.
- #1Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra WideVictorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide
- #2Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s KnifeMercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife
- #3Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mmTojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm
- #4Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s KnifeZwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife
- #5Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s KnifeWusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
- #6Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440)Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440)
- #7Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s KnifeMessermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife
- #8Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s KnifeShun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
- #9MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with DimplesMAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples
- #10Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s KnifeOpinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife
All 10 picks, in order.
- #1
Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide
Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide
A TPE handle on an everyday 8-inch-format knife
Why it fits
- The 8-inch-named 5.2063.20 lists a 7.9-inch blade. Victorinox describes Fibrox steel as European stainless steel without identifying the alloy grade here. This extra-wide blade is listed as not forged, with a black thermoplastic-elastomer (TPE) handle. Victorinox distinguishes honing an edge back into alignment from sharpening by removing metal, and recommends sharpening when honing no longer helps. [1] [2] [3]
Model: 5.2063.20 · Black 8-inch · US
- #2
Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife
A forged blade with a Santoprene handle and named guard option
Why it fits
- M20608 has an 8-inch (20.3 cm) blade, described as precision-forged high-carbon German steel. The exact alloy grade is unconfirmed. Genesis pairs a black Santoprene handle with a bolster. Mercer specifies hand washing, rinsing and drying without prolonged soaking. The page names compatible Knife Guard M33113P through a separate accessory link; it does not establish that a guard is included. [4] [5] [6]
Before you choose
- Choose it for its documented construction and handle material; this comparison does not establish grip comfort or edge life. Confirm the accessory package separately. [4] [5] [6]
Check before buying:
- Included guard is unconfirmed. The listed MercerPak packaging is not evidence of a blade guard; exact steel grade and sharpening procedure are also unconfirmed here.
Model: M20608 · Black Santoprene handle · US
- #3
Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm
Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm
A named VG10 core with a laminated full-tang handle
Why it fits
- F-808 lists a 210 mm double-bevel blade with a VG10 core and 13 Chrome stainless-steel outer layer. The maker specifies a reinforced laminated handle with three studs, a full tang and a metal bolster. Tojiro provides double-bevel whetstone-sharpening instructions and advises washing with a soft sponge and neutral detergent, then rinsing and drying before storage. [7] [8] [9]
Before you choose
- The 210 mm blade is slightly longer than a nominal 8-inch blade. Consider whether the maker’s whetstone-care approach suits your maintenance plans. [7] [8] [9]
Check before buying:
- Included guard or saya is unconfirmed; verify the seller’s F-808 identity and box contents. No cutting or durability tests were performed.
Model: F-808 · 210 mm double bevel · US
- #4
Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife
A curved bolster with a riveted plastic handle
Why it fits
- The 8-inch-named Pro 38401-203 lists a 7.87-inch blade, forged from Zwilling’s special-formula high-carbon stainless steel; the exact alloy grade is unconfirmed. A curved bolster joins a full-tang blade to a matte black plastic handle with three rivets. Zwilling recommends hand washing this knife. Confirm the suitable sharpening method and any storage accessory with the seller before choosing the package. [10] [11] [12]
Before you choose
- The bolster profile offers a distinct shape to compare against Wusthof Classic’s full bolster. That difference does not establish which grip will feel better. [10] [11] [12]
Check before buying:
- Included protection, exact alloy grade and a model-specific sharpening procedure are unconfirmed here.
Model: 38401-203 · Black plastic handle · US
- #5
Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
A full bolster in a traditional riveted-handle design
Why it fits
- Classic 1040100120 lists an 8-inch forged blade made from Wusthof’s special stainless steel; a specific alloy grade is unconfirmed here. The Classic series uses a full bolster and a synthetic handle secured with stainless-steel rivets. Wusthof advises hand washing and immediate drying, regular honing and sharpening as needed; avoid leaving the knife soaking. [13] [14] [15]
Before you choose
- Compare the full bolster with the curved Zwilling profile before buying. Check the seller’s sharpening arrangements rather than inferring an edge-care advantage from the bolster shape. [13] [14] [15]
Check before buying:
- Included blade protection and exact alloy grade are unconfirmed. Confirm black model 1040100120 rather than a different colour SKU.
Model: 1040100120 · Black synthetic handle · US
- #6
Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440)
Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440)
A rounded spine and bolster on the current ACUTO440 version
Why it fits
- The current ACUTO440 version lists an 8.26-inch (210 mm) blade made from AICHI ACUTO440 steel, with a symmetrical 14-degree edge on each side. It has a black POM (polyoxymethylene) handle and a rounded spine and bolster. Misen specifies hand washing and immediate drying and offers a mail-in sharpening service. This listing identifies ACUTO440, so do not substitute specifications from earlier AUS-10 versions. [16] [17] [18]
Before you choose
- The rounded details are documented construction features, not a tested comfort result. Confirm ACUTO440 in the seller’s model description when comparing older listings. [16] [17] [18]
Check before buying:
- Included blade protection is unconfirmed; check box contents and current sharpening-service terms. We have not tested edge retention.
Model: 8-inch Chef’s Knife ACUTO440 · Black POM handle · US
- #7
Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife
An olive-wood handle with an explicit wood-care routine
Why it fits
- Oliva Elite E/6686-8S lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade made from Thyssen-Krupp 1.4116 steel. The maker specifies a Mediterranean olive-wood handle. Messermeister specifies hand washing with mild detergent and immediate drying, excluding the dishwasher. It advises a light coat of food-safe mineral oil or wood cream on wood handles every few weeks. [19] [20] [21]
Before you choose
- The wood handle adds a conditioning step beyond washing and drying. Choose it only if that upkeep suits your routine; no comfort or cutting-performance advantage is established here. [19] [20] [21]
Check before buying:
- Included blade protection and model-specific sharpening setup are unconfirmed; check the seller’s package and care guidance.
Model: E/6686-8S · Mediterranean olive-wood handle · US
- #8
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife
A D-shaped Pakkawood handle with a named saya option
Why it fits
- DM0706 lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade with a VG-MAX core and a 16-degree edge on each side. Its handle is D-shaped ebony Pakkawood, a different shape and material to compare with the riveted polymer options. Shun advises hand washing, rinsing and drying before storage and distinguishes honing from sharpening. Its separately listed Large Universal Saya BG0806 explicitly fits DM0706; inclusion with the knife is unconfirmed. [22] [23] [24]
Before you choose
- Check that the D-shaped handle suits your grip and that the seller has the exact DM0706 model. The saya is a separately listed accessory rather than a confirmed included item. [22] [23] [24]
Check before buying:
- Included guard or saya and current seller availability are unconfirmed. Sharpening-service terms and accessory package need checking.
Model: DM0706 · Ebony Pakkawood handle · US
- #9
MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples
MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples
A documented blade thickness and dimples with maker sharpening service
Why it fits
- MTH-80 lists a 7.88-inch blade with 2.5 mm thickness. MAC generally describes its blades as molybdenum high-carbon steel; an exact MTH-80 alloy grade is unconfirmed. The named Professional model has a bolster and blade dimples. Handle material is unconfirmed in the sources used here. MAC offers a sharpening and repair service. Check current service terms and the seller’s care and storage instructions for the exact MTH-80. [25] [26] [27]
Before you choose
- Dimples are a documented feature, not proof of better food release. The missing handle-material detail matters if you are choosing primarily by material. [25] [26] [27]
Check before buying:
- Handle material, exact alloy grade and included blade protection are unconfirmed; verify those details with the seller.
Model: MTH-80 · Professional bolster model · US
- #10
Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife
Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife
A named 12C27 Modified steel with a polymer full-tang handle
Why it fits
- Intempora lists an 8-inch blade made from 12C27 Modified stainless steel. The maker specifies a full-tang construction with a polymer handle. Opinel’s stainless-steel care guidance says to wipe debris away before storage and explains that stainless blades still need periodic sharpening. [28] [29] [30]
Before you choose
- Stainless steel does not eliminate sharpening. Compare the handle shape with the other polymer choices before selecting it. [28] [29] [30]
Check before buying:
- Included blade protection and a model-specific sharpening setup are unconfirmed; check the seller’s package and care guidance.
Model: Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife · Full-tang polymer handle · US
The details, side by side.
| What matters | #1Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide | #2Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife | #3Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm | #4Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife | #5Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife | #6Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440) | #7Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife | #8Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife | #9MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples | #10Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Workflow | The 8-inch-named 5.2063.20 lists a 7.9-inch blade. Victorinox describes Fibrox steel as European stainless steel without identifying the alloy grade here. [1] | M20608 has an 8-inch (20.3 cm) blade, described as precision-forged high-carbon German steel. The exact alloy grade is unconfirmed. [4] | F-808 lists a 210 mm double-bevel blade with a VG10 core and 13 Chrome stainless-steel outer layer. [7] | The 8-inch-named Pro 38401-203 lists a 7.87-inch blade, forged from Zwilling’s special-formula high-carbon stainless steel; the exact alloy grade is unconfirmed. [10] | Classic 1040100120 lists an 8-inch forged blade made from Wusthof’s special stainless steel; a specific alloy grade is unconfirmed here. [13] | The current ACUTO440 version lists an 8.26-inch (210 mm) blade made from AICHI ACUTO440 steel, with a symmetrical 14-degree edge on each side. [16] | Oliva Elite E/6686-8S lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade made from Thyssen-Krupp 1.4116 steel. [19] | DM0706 lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade with a VG-MAX core and a 16-degree edge on each side. [22] | MTH-80 lists a 7.88-inch blade with 2.5 mm thickness. MAC generally describes its blades as molybdenum high-carbon steel; an exact MTH-80 alloy grade is unconfirmed. [25] | Intempora lists an 8-inch blade made from 12C27 Modified stainless steel. [28] |
| Form factor | This extra-wide blade is listed as not forged, with a black thermoplastic-elastomer (TPE) handle. [2] | Genesis pairs a black Santoprene handle with a bolster. [5] | The maker specifies a reinforced laminated handle with three studs, a full tang and a metal bolster. [8] | A curved bolster joins a full-tang blade to a matte black plastic handle with three rivets. [11] | The Classic series uses a full bolster and a synthetic handle secured with stainless-steel rivets. [14] | It has a black POM (polyoxymethylene) handle and a rounded spine and bolster. [17] | The maker specifies a Mediterranean olive-wood handle. [20] | Its handle is D-shaped ebony Pakkawood, a different shape and material to compare with the riveted polymer options. [23] | The named Professional model has a bolster and blade dimples. Handle material is unconfirmed in the sources used here. [26] | The maker specifies a full-tang construction with a polymer handle. [29] |
| Compatibility | Victorinox distinguishes honing an edge back into alignment from sharpening by removing metal, and recommends sharpening when honing no longer helps. [3] | Mercer specifies hand washing, rinsing and drying without prolonged soaking. The page names compatible Knife Guard M33113P through a separate accessory link; it does not establish that a guard is included. [6] | Tojiro provides double-bevel whetstone-sharpening instructions and advises washing with a soft sponge and neutral detergent, then rinsing and drying before storage. [9] | Zwilling recommends hand washing this knife. Confirm the suitable sharpening method and any storage accessory with the seller before choosing the package. [12] | Wusthof advises hand washing and immediate drying, regular honing and sharpening as needed; avoid leaving the knife soaking. [15] | Misen specifies hand washing and immediate drying and offers a mail-in sharpening service. This listing identifies ACUTO440, so do not substitute specifications from earlier AUS-10 versions. [18] | Messermeister specifies hand washing with mild detergent and immediate drying, excluding the dishwasher. It advises a light coat of food-safe mineral oil or wood cream on wood handles every few weeks. [21] | Shun advises hand washing, rinsing and drying before storage and distinguishes honing from sharpening. Its separately listed Large Universal Saya BG0806 explicitly fits DM0706; inclusion with the knife is unconfirmed. [24] | MAC offers a sharpening and repair service. Check current service terms and the seller’s care and storage instructions for the exact MTH-80. [27] | Opinel’s stainless-steel care guidance says to wipe debris away before storage and explains that stainless blades still need periodic sharpening. [30] |
Start with the blade size and handle you want to use
Most picks sit around 8 inches, while Tojiro F-808 and the current Misen ACUTO440 version list 210 mm blades. Compare the handle construction next: Victorinox uses TPE, Mercer uses Santoprene, Messermeister uses olive wood and Shun uses D-shaped Pakkawood. These documented differences help narrow a shortlist, but they do not tell us which knife will feel comfortable in your hand. [7] [16] [2] [5] [20] [23]
Choose an edge-care plan alongside the knife
Tojiro provides whetstone instructions for its double-bevel knives. Victorinox and Shun distinguish honing an edge into alignment from sharpening that removes metal, while Wusthof recommends regular honing and sharpening as needed. Misen and MAC offer sharpening services whose current terms should be checked. A named steel or edge angle does not establish tested sharpness or how long a particular cook can go between sharpenings. [9] [3] [24] [15] [18] [27]
Check protection in the actual seller’s box
Included guards or sayas are unconfirmed for these single-knife listings. Mercer names Knife Guard M33113P as a compatible accessory, and Shun’s separately listed BG0806 saya explicitly includes DM0706 in its fit list. Those links establish accessory compatibility, not inclusion. Check the seller’s box contents and budget for an appropriate storage accessory if needed; a nominal 8-inch blade length alone does not establish guard fit. [6] [24]
How we compared.
Source-based comparison of maker pages and care instructions read October 3, 2026. In a focused r/chefknives discussion, dhruan preferred the Fibrox handle to Swiss Classic; that individual comment prompted a closer comparison of handle construction, not a comfort verdict or owner consensus. Order begins with everyday handle choices, followed by distinct bolster, steel, wood-handle and edge-care options. Ten distinct physical products; colours and bundles do not count as additional picks. We have not tested sharpness, cutting performance, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort. Steel and geometry descriptions are maker statements, not measured performance. Included guards are unconfirmed for these individual-knife listings; compatible accessories listed separately are not assumed to be included.
How we chooseSources
Official product documentation, reviewed October 3, 2026.
Victorinox · US · Read October 3, 2026
Victorinox · US · Read October 3, 2026
Victorinox · US · Read October 3, 2026
Mercer Culinary · US · Read October 3, 2026
Mercer Culinary · US · Read October 3, 2026
Tojiro · US · Read October 3, 2026
Tojiro · US · Read October 3, 2026
Zwilling · US · Read October 3, 2026
Wusthof · US · Read October 3, 2026
Wusthof · US · Read October 3, 2026
Misen · US · Read October 3, 2026
Shun · US · Read October 3, 2026
Shun · US · Read October 3, 2026
Shun · US · Read October 3, 2026
MAC Knife · US · Read October 3, 2026
MAC Knife · US · Read October 3, 2026
MAC Knife · US · Read October 3, 2026
Opinel · US · Read October 3, 2026
Opinel · US · Read October 3, 2026
Reddit r/chefknives · US · Read October 3, 2026
Messermeister · US · Read October 3, 2026
Detailed source notes
- Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide: The 8-inch-named 5.2063.20 lists a 7.9-inch blade. Victorinox describes Fibrox steel as European stainless steel without identifying the alloy grade here.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide source details · Actual US product body:5.2063.20,8-inch name,7.9-inch blade detail,not forged,TPE handle.
The 8-inch-named 5.2063.20 lists a 7.9-inch blade. Victorinox describes Fibrox steel as European stainless steel without identifying the alloy grade here.Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide steel details · Actual maker range comparison describes Fibrox steel as European high-quality stainless steel; specific alloy grade not provided.
The 8-inch-named 5.2063.20 lists a 7.9-inch blade. Victorinox describes Fibrox steel as European stainless steel without identifying the alloy grade here.Checked October 3, 2026
- Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide: This extra-wide blade is listed as not forged, with a black thermoplastic-elastomer (TPE) handle.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide source details · Actual US product body:5.2063.20,8-inch name,7.9-inch blade detail,not forged,TPE handle.
This extra-wide blade is listed as not forged, with a black thermoplastic-elastomer (TPE) handle.Checked October 3, 2026
- Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide: Victorinox distinguishes honing an edge back into alignment from sharpening by removing metal, and recommends sharpening when honing no longer helps.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Victorinox Fibrox Chef’s Knife Extra Wide care details · Actual maker care article distinguishes honing alignment from sharpening material removal; sharpening when honing no longer helps.
Victorinox distinguishes honing an edge back into alignment from sharpening by removing metal, and recommends sharpening when honing no longer helps.Checked October 3, 2026
- Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife: M20608 has an 8-inch (20.3 cm) blade, described as precision-forged high-carbon German steel. The exact alloy grade is unconfirmed.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:M20608,8in20.3cm,precision forged high-carbon German steel,Santoprene handle,bolster,Use with Knife Guard M33113P;MercerPak packaging.
M20608 has an 8-inch (20.3 cm) blade, described as precision-forged high-carbon German steel. The exact alloy grade is unconfirmed.Checked October 3, 2026
- Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Genesis pairs a black Santoprene handle with a bolster.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:M20608,8in20.3cm,precision forged high-carbon German steel,Santoprene handle,bolster,Use with Knife Guard M33113P;MercerPak packaging.
Genesis pairs a black Santoprene handle with a bolster.Checked October 3, 2026
- Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Mercer specifies hand washing, rinsing and drying without prolonged soaking. The page names compatible Knife Guard M33113P through a separate accessory link; it does not establish that a guard is included.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:M20608,8in20.3cm,precision forged high-carbon German steel,Santoprene handle,bolster,Use with Knife Guard M33113P;MercerPak packaging.
Mercer specifies hand washing, rinsing and drying without prolonged soaking. The page names compatible Knife Guard M33113P through a separate accessory link; it does not establish that a guard is included.Mercer Genesis 8-inch Chef’s Knife care details · Actual care body:hand wash warm water mild soap,rinse dry,no prolonged soaking,block or sheath storage. Knife Guard is separately linked; packaging does not establish inclusion.
Mercer specifies hand washing, rinsing and drying without prolonged soaking. The page names compatible Knife Guard M33113P through a separate accessory link; it does not establish that a guard is included.Checked October 3, 2026
- Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm: F-808 lists a 210 mm double-bevel blade with a VG10 core and 13 Chrome stainless-steel outer layer.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm source details · Actual product body:CLASSIC F808 210mm,VG10 core,13Chrome stainless outer layer,double bevel,reinforced laminated handle,3 studs,full tang,metal bolster.
F-808 lists a 210 mm double-bevel blade with a VG10 core and 13 Chrome stainless-steel outer layer.Checked October 3, 2026
- Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm: The maker specifies a reinforced laminated handle with three studs, a full tang and a metal bolster.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm source details · Actual product body:CLASSIC F808 210mm,VG10 core,13Chrome stainless outer layer,double bevel,reinforced laminated handle,3 studs,full tang,metal bolster.
The maker specifies a reinforced laminated handle with three studs, a full tang and a metal bolster.Checked October 3, 2026
- Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm: Tojiro provides double-bevel whetstone-sharpening instructions and advises washing with a soft sponge and neutral detergent, then rinsing and drying before storage.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Tojiro CLASSIC Chef Knife 210 mm care details · Actual English maker instructions:double-bevel whetstone sharpening;soft sponge neutral detergent rinse dry before storage;avoid prolonged soaking.
Tojiro provides double-bevel whetstone-sharpening instructions and advises washing with a soft sponge and neutral detergent, then rinsing and drying before storage.Checked October 3, 2026
- Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife: The 8-inch-named Pro 38401-203 lists a 7.87-inch blade, forged from Zwilling’s special-formula high-carbon stainless steel; the exact alloy grade is unconfirmed.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:38401-203,8inch name,7.87in blade,forged,special-formula high-carbon stainless,curved bolster,full tang,triple-rivet matte black plastic handle,hand wash recommended.
The 8-inch-named Pro 38401-203 lists a 7.87-inch blade, forged from Zwilling’s special-formula high-carbon stainless steel; the exact alloy grade is unconfirmed.Checked October 3, 2026
- Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife: A curved bolster joins a full-tang blade to a matte black plastic handle with three rivets.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:38401-203,8inch name,7.87in blade,forged,special-formula high-carbon stainless,curved bolster,full tang,triple-rivet matte black plastic handle,hand wash recommended.
A curved bolster joins a full-tang blade to a matte black plastic handle with three rivets.Checked October 3, 2026
- Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Zwilling recommends hand washing this knife. Confirm the suitable sharpening method and any storage accessory with the seller before choosing the package.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Zwilling Pro 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body:38401-203,8inch name,7.87in blade,forged,special-formula high-carbon stainless,curved bolster,full tang,triple-rivet matte black plastic handle,hand wash recommended.
Zwilling recommends hand washing this knife. Confirm the suitable sharpening method and any storage accessory with the seller before choosing the package.Checked October 3, 2026
- Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Classic 1040100120 lists an 8-inch forged blade made from Wusthof’s special stainless steel; a specific alloy grade is unconfirmed here.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual exact black variant1040100120:8.0in blade,forged,special stainless Wusthof steel,handwash immediate dry,avoid soaking,honing regular,sharpen as needed.
Classic 1040100120 lists an 8-inch forged blade made from Wusthof’s special stainless steel; a specific alloy grade is unconfirmed here.Checked October 3, 2026
- Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: The Classic series uses a full bolster and a synthetic handle secured with stainless-steel rivets.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife series details · Actual Classic range body full bolster,synthetic handle,stainless rivets;linked8inch black SKU1040100120.
The Classic series uses a full bolster and a synthetic handle secured with stainless-steel rivets.Checked October 3, 2026
- Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Wusthof advises hand washing and immediate drying, regular honing and sharpening as needed; avoid leaving the knife soaking.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Wusthof Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual exact black variant1040100120:8.0in blade,forged,special stainless Wusthof steel,handwash immediate dry,avoid soaking,honing regular,sharpen as needed.
Wusthof advises hand washing and immediate drying, regular honing and sharpening as needed; avoid leaving the knife soaking.Checked October 3, 2026
- Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440): The current ACUTO440 version lists an 8.26-inch (210 mm) blade made from AICHI ACUTO440 steel, with a symmetrical 14-degree edge on each side.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440) source details · Actual visible maker HTML downloaded publicly after browser retrieval failed;8inchACUTO440Black;8.26in210mm blade,AICHIACUTO440Japan,POMhandle,rounded spine/bolster,50/50symmetrical14degrees per side;handwashdry;mail-in sharpening offered. OlderAUS10listings not this current model.
The current ACUTO440 version lists an 8.26-inch (210 mm) blade made from AICHI ACUTO440 steel, with a symmetrical 14-degree edge on each side.Checked October 3, 2026
- Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440): It has a black POM (polyoxymethylene) handle and a rounded spine and bolster.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440) source details · Actual visible maker HTML downloaded publicly after browser retrieval failed;8inchACUTO440Black;8.26in210mm blade,AICHIACUTO440Japan,POMhandle,rounded spine/bolster,50/50symmetrical14degrees per side;handwashdry;mail-in sharpening offered. OlderAUS10listings not this current model.
It has a black POM (polyoxymethylene) handle and a rounded spine and bolster.Checked October 3, 2026
- Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440): Misen specifies hand washing and immediate drying and offers a mail-in sharpening service. This listing identifies ACUTO440, so do not substitute specifications from earlier AUS-10 versions.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Misen 8-inch Chef’s Knife (ACUTO440) source details · Actual visible maker HTML downloaded publicly after browser retrieval failed;8inchACUTO440Black;8.26in210mm blade,AICHIACUTO440Japan,POMhandle,rounded spine/bolster,50/50symmetrical14degrees per side;handwashdry;mail-in sharpening offered. OlderAUS10listings not this current model.
Misen specifies hand washing and immediate drying and offers a mail-in sharpening service. This listing identifies ACUTO440, so do not substitute specifications from earlier AUS-10 versions.Checked October 3, 2026
- Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Oliva Elite E/6686-8S lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade made from Thyssen-Krupp 1.4116 steel.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch identity and care · Actual US maker body:SKU E/6686-8S,8in203mm blade,Thyssen-Krupp1.4116,Mediterranean olive wood handle;care hand wash mild detergent dry immediately,no dishwasher;wood handles light food-safe mineral oil or wood cream every few weeks. No performance or antibacterial claim used.
Oliva Elite E/6686-8S lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade made from Thyssen-Krupp 1.4116 steel.Checked October 3, 2026
- Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife: The maker specifies a Mediterranean olive-wood handle.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch identity and care · Actual US maker body:SKU E/6686-8S,8in203mm blade,Thyssen-Krupp1.4116,Mediterranean olive wood handle;care hand wash mild detergent dry immediately,no dishwasher;wood handles light food-safe mineral oil or wood cream every few weeks. No performance or antibacterial claim used.
The maker specifies a Mediterranean olive-wood handle.Checked October 3, 2026
- Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Messermeister specifies hand washing with mild detergent and immediate drying, excluding the dishwasher. It advises a light coat of food-safe mineral oil or wood cream on wood handles every few weeks.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Messermeister Oliva Elite 8-inch identity and care · Actual US maker body:SKU E/6686-8S,8in203mm blade,Thyssen-Krupp1.4116,Mediterranean olive wood handle;care hand wash mild detergent dry immediately,no dishwasher;wood handles light food-safe mineral oil or wood cream every few weeks. No performance or antibacterial claim used.
Messermeister specifies hand washing with mild detergent and immediate drying, excluding the dishwasher. It advises a light coat of food-safe mineral oil or wood cream on wood handles every few weeks.Checked October 3, 2026
- Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: DM0706 lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade with a VG-MAX core and a 16-degree edge on each side.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual maker body:DM0706,8in203mm,VGMAX core,D-shaped ebony Pakkawood,16degrees eachside.
DM0706 lists an 8-inch (203 mm) blade with a VG-MAX core and a 16-degree edge on each side.Checked October 3, 2026
- Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Its handle is D-shaped ebony Pakkawood, a different shape and material to compare with the riveted polymer options.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual maker body:DM0706,8in203mm,VGMAX core,D-shaped ebony Pakkawood,16degrees eachside.
Its handle is D-shaped ebony Pakkawood, a different shape and material to compare with the riveted polymer options.Checked October 3, 2026
- Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Shun advises hand washing, rinsing and drying before storage and distinguishes honing from sharpening. Its separately listed Large Universal Saya BG0806 explicitly fits DM0706; inclusion with the knife is unconfirmed.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife care details · Actual maker care article:handwash mildsoap rinse dry before storage;honing alignment versus sharpening removal;US professional sharpening service.
Shun advises hand washing, rinsing and drying before storage and distinguishes honing from sharpening. Its separately listed Large Universal Saya BG0806 explicitly fits DM0706; inclusion with the knife is unconfirmed.Shun Classic 8-inch Chef’s Knife saya details · Actual separate Large Universal Saya BG0806 product explicitly lists DM0706 compatible;not evidence included with knife.
Shun advises hand washing, rinsing and drying before storage and distinguishes honing from sharpening. Its separately listed Large Universal Saya BG0806 explicitly fits DM0706; inclusion with the knife is unconfirmed.Checked October 3, 2026
- MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples: MTH-80 lists a 7.88-inch blade with 2.5 mm thickness. MAC generally describes its blades as molybdenum high-carbon steel; an exact MTH-80 alloy grade is unconfirmed.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples source details · Actual maker MTH80:8inname,7.88in blade,2.5mm thickness,bolster,dimples. Handle material not stated in source used.
MTH-80 lists a 7.88-inch blade with 2.5 mm thickness. MAC generally describes its blades as molybdenum high-carbon steel; an exact MTH-80 alloy grade is unconfirmed.MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples steel details · Actual maker general blade description:rust-resistant molybdenum high-carbon cutlery steel;does not identify exact MTH80 alloy.
MTH-80 lists a 7.88-inch blade with 2.5 mm thickness. MAC generally describes its blades as molybdenum high-carbon steel; an exact MTH-80 alloy grade is unconfirmed.Checked October 3, 2026
- MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples: The named Professional model has a bolster and blade dimples. Handle material is unconfirmed in the sources used here.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples source details · Actual maker MTH80:8inname,7.88in blade,2.5mm thickness,bolster,dimples. Handle material not stated in source used.
The named Professional model has a bolster and blade dimples. Handle material is unconfirmed in the sources used here.Checked October 3, 2026
- MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples: MAC offers a sharpening and repair service. Check current service terms and the seller’s care and storage instructions for the exact MTH-80.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
MAC Professional 8-inch Chef’s Knife with Dimples care details · Actual FAQ offers MAC sharpening and repair service;service availability and terms need current confirmation.
MAC offers a sharpening and repair service. Check current service terms and the seller’s care and storage instructions for the exact MTH-80.Checked October 3, 2026
- Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Intempora lists an 8-inch blade made from 12C27 Modified stainless steel.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body Intempora8in blade,12C27Modified stainless,fulltang polymerhandle. Country/overall-length conflicting content omitted.
Intempora lists an 8-inch blade made from 12C27 Modified stainless steel.Checked October 3, 2026
- Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife: The maker specifies a full-tang construction with a polymer handle.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife source details · Actual product body Intempora8in blade,12C27Modified stainless,fulltang polymerhandle. Country/overall-length conflicting content omitted.
The maker specifies a full-tang construction with a polymer handle.Checked October 3, 2026
- Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife: Opinel’s stainless-steel care guidance says to wipe debris away before storage and explains that stainless blades still need periodic sharpening.
Exact named chef knife; maker-described blade, steel, handle and care. No measured sharpness, durability, corrosion resistance, food release or comfort; accessory compatibility does not establish inclusion.
Opinel Intempora 8-inch Chef’s Knife care details · Actual maker stainlesscare article identifies12C27Mod includingIntempora,wipe clean before storage,periodic sharpening still needed.
Opinel’s stainless-steel care guidance says to wipe debris away before storage and explains that stainless blades still need periodic sharpening.Checked October 3, 2026