Our top 10, at a glance.
Choose a dry bag whose water-protection limit, usable shape and carrying method fit a kayak day trip.
- #1Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8LBest light spare-layer bag
- #2Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13LBest lashable deck bag
- #3NRS Tuff Sacks 10LBest rugged simple sack
- #4NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10LBest flexible submersible bag
- #5SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10LBest stable oval shape
- #6Watershed Ocoee 10.5LBest protected valuables duffel
- #7YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear CaseBest quick-access small-gear case
- #8ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12LBest ultralight internal liner
- #9Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12LBest rectangular hatch organizer
- #10Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10LBest shore-carry strap
All 10 picks, in order.
- #1
Best light spare-layer bag
Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L
Paddlers stowing a spare layer inside the kayak.
Why it fits
Model: Lightweight Dry Bag 8L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #2
Best lashable deck bag
Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L
Paddlers who need a more abrasion-resistant roll-top that can be secured.
Why it fits
Model: Big River Dry Bag 13L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #3
Best rugged simple sack
NRS Tuff Sacks 10L
Paddlers who want a sturdy no-frills bag for clothing and lunch.
Model: Tuff Sacks 10L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #4
Best flexible submersible bag
NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L
Paddlers carrying items that need a manufacturer-stated submersible closure.
Why it fits
Model: Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #5
Best stable oval shape
SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L
Paddlers fitting a bag into a narrow hull or behind a seat.
Model: Discovery Dry Bag 10L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #6
Best protected valuables duffel
Watershed Ocoee 10.5L
Paddlers needing a small submersible bag for sensitive gear.
Why it fits
Model: Ocoee 10.5L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #7
Best quick-access small-gear case
YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case
Paddlers organizing a phone, keys and compact supplies near hand.
Why it fits
Model: SideKick Dry 6L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #8
Best ultralight internal liner
ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L
Paddlers wanting a light secondary splash barrier inside a hatch or other bag.
Why it fits
Model: Dry-Bag Light 12L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #9
Best rectangular hatch organizer
Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L
Paddlers who want rectangular packing inside a hatch or gear compartment.
Why it fits
Model: Ultralight Dry Sack 12L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
- #10
Best shore-carry strap
Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L
Paddlers who will carry one bag between launch site and boat.
Model: Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L · Exact named size; verify selection before purchase · US
The details, side by side.
| What matters | #1Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L | #2Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L | #3NRS Tuff Sacks 10L | #4NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L | #5SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L | #6Watershed Ocoee 10.5L | #7YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case | #8ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L | #9Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L | #10Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Construction | 70D recycled nylon with taped seams, roll-top closure and a buckle D-ring; the optional sling is sold separately. The maker says avoid submersion because water may enter through the roll-top. [1] | 420D nylon dry bag with roll-top, lash loops and double D-rings; maker advises against submersion through its roll-top. [4] | 18 oz PVC-free TobaTex with welded seams, fold-down StormStrip closure, buckle carry handle and D-ring. [7] | TPU-coated 70D ripstop nylon with welded seams, StormStrip roll closure and HydroLock zip seal; NRS marks this current model submersible. [10] | PVC-free 300D polyurethane-coated polyester with welded seams, DrySeal roll-top and oval bottom. [13] | Duffel-style bag with ZipDry closure, hard lash points and compression straps; manufacturer lists IP68 protection. [16] | Flat gear case with HydroShield magnetic and hook-and-loop closure, RF-welded seams and attachment points; maker calls it waterproof but does not state a submersion rating. [19] | Lightweight roll-top internal dry bag rated IP64 by ORTLIEB, meaning splash protection rather than submersion. [22] | Rectangular 40D recycled-nylon roll-top sack with D-ring; Osprey rates it IPX5 and explicitly non-submersible. [25] | 500D PVC roll-top bag with D-rings and an included adjustable shoulder strap for the 10L size. [28] |
| Packed size | Maker lists 39 cm rolled height and 16.5 x 19.9 cm base, not empty packed size. [2] | Maker lists 44 cm rolled height and 20 x 22 cm base, not empty packed size. [5] | Maker lists 7.5 in diameter x 13.75 in height when filled and rolled; no empty packed size. [8] | Maker lists 12.75 in width and 14 in height filled and rolled, not empty packed size. [11] | Maker lists 5 x 8.5 x 14.5 in when properly rolled; this is not empty packed size. [14] | Maker lists 9 H x 16 W x 8 D in rolled dimensions, not empty packed size. [17] | Maker lists 13.5 W x 2.8 D x 9.8 H in exterior dimensions; no empty folded packed size. [20] | Maker lists 32 cm closed height and 22 cm diameter for 12L; not empty packed size. [23] | Maker lists 6.69 H x 8.66 W x 13.78 D in product dimensions, not empty packed size. [26] | The maker size guide is graphical; accessible product text does not give a reliable empty packed dimension for 10L. [29] |
| Weight | Maker lists 67 g for 8L. [3] | Maker lists 192 g for 13L. [6] | Maker lists 0.60 lb for 10L. [9] | NRS does not publish a 10L weight on the current model page. [12] | Maker lists 9.7 oz for 10L. [15] | Maker lists 1.5 lb. [18] | Maker lists 1.07 lb empty. [21] | Maker datasheet lists 70 g for 12L. [24] | Maker lists 0.101 lb. [27] | The maker does not state a 10L bag weight in accessible product text. [30] |
Match the closure to the capsize risk
The NRS Ether HydroLock is described by NRS as submersible, and Watershed lists IP68 for the Ocoee. Sea to Summit cautions against submerging its roll-top Lightweight and Big River bags. ORTLIEB rates the Dry-Bag Light IP64 and Osprey rates its sack IPX5; both are better treated as internal splash barriers. [10] [16] [1] [4] [22] [25]
Fit the bag through the opening
A rolled bag needs to pass through the kayak hatch or cockpit opening. Compare the published rolled dimensions of the Discovery, Tuff Sacks and Ocoee with that opening, then allow space for the contents. One whitewater owner reported that a full Ocoee was difficult to move past a backband; that is a useful fit question, not a universal defect. [14] [8] [17]
Published dimensions are not empty pack sizes
Most makers here publish dimensions with the bag closed or filled and rolled. The Sea to Summit Lightweight and Big River heights, for example, describe a rolled bag; they should not be compared with an empty folded package. If daypack volume is tight, measure the actual bag after packing. [2] [5] [14]
How we compared.
Source-based desk research from linked maker pages reviewed September 27, 2026. A Pack Hacker hands-on review and one whitewater owner discussion informed bounded carry and cockpit-fit cautions; neither is treated as product-wide testing. Rankings reflect distinct day-trip uses without claiming hands-on tests, current prices or unqualified waterproof performance.
How we chooseSources
Official product documentation, reviewed September 27, 2026.
Sea to Summit · US · Read September 27, 2026
Sea to Summit · US · Read September 27, 2026
NRS · US · Read September 27, 2026
NRS · US · Read September 27, 2026
SealLine · US · Read September 27, 2026
Watershed · US · Read September 27, 2026
YETI · US · Read September 27, 2026
ORTLIEB · US · Read September 27, 2026
Osprey · US · Read September 27, 2026
Earth Pak · US · Read September 27, 2026
Pack Hacker · US · Read September 27, 2026
r/whitewater · US · Read September 27, 2026
Detailed source notes
- Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L: 70D recycled nylon with taped seams, roll-top closure and a buckle D-ring; the optional sling is sold separately. The maker says avoid submersion because water may enter through the roll-top.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
70D recycled nylon with taped seams, roll-top closure and a buckle D-ring; the optional sling is sold separately. The maker says avoid submersion because water may enter through the roll-top.Checked September 27, 2026
- Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L: Maker lists 39 cm rolled height and 16.5 x 19.9 cm base, not empty packed size.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 39 cm rolled height and 16.5 x 19.9 cm base, not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L: Maker lists 67 g for 8L.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Lightweight Dry Bag 8L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 67 g for 8L.Checked September 27, 2026
- Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L: 420D nylon dry bag with roll-top, lash loops and double D-rings; maker advises against submersion through its roll-top.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
420D nylon dry bag with roll-top, lash loops and double D-rings; maker advises against submersion through its roll-top.Checked September 27, 2026
- Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L: Maker lists 44 cm rolled height and 20 x 22 cm base, not empty packed size.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 44 cm rolled height and 20 x 22 cm base, not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L: Maker lists 192 g for 13L.
Maker page for Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Sea to Summit Big River Dry Bag 13L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 192 g for 13L.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Tuff Sacks 10L: 18 oz PVC-free TobaTex with welded seams, fold-down StormStrip closure, buckle carry handle and D-ring.
Maker page for NRS Tuff Sacks 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Tuff Sacks 10L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
18 oz PVC-free TobaTex with welded seams, fold-down StormStrip closure, buckle carry handle and D-ring.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Tuff Sacks 10L: Maker lists 7.5 in diameter x 13.75 in height when filled and rolled; no empty packed size.
Maker page for NRS Tuff Sacks 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Tuff Sacks 10L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 7.5 in diameter x 13.75 in height when filled and rolled; no empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Tuff Sacks 10L: Maker lists 0.60 lb for 10L.
Maker page for NRS Tuff Sacks 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Tuff Sacks 10L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 0.60 lb for 10L.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L: TPU-coated 70D ripstop nylon with welded seams, StormStrip roll closure and HydroLock zip seal; NRS marks this current model submersible.
Maker page for NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
TPU-coated 70D ripstop nylon with welded seams, StormStrip roll closure and HydroLock zip seal; NRS marks this current model submersible.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L: Maker lists 12.75 in width and 14 in height filled and rolled, not empty packed size.
Maker page for NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 12.75 in width and 14 in height filled and rolled, not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L: NRS does not publish a 10L weight on the current model page.
Maker page for NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
NRS Ether HydroLock Dry Bag 10L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
NRS does not publish a 10L weight on the current model page.Checked September 27, 2026
- SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L: PVC-free 300D polyurethane-coated polyester with welded seams, DrySeal roll-top and oval bottom.
Maker page for SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
PVC-free 300D polyurethane-coated polyester with welded seams, DrySeal roll-top and oval bottom.Checked September 27, 2026
- SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L: Maker lists 5 x 8.5 x 14.5 in when properly rolled; this is not empty packed size.
Maker page for SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 5 x 8.5 x 14.5 in when properly rolled; this is not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L: Maker lists 9.7 oz for 10L.
Maker page for SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
SealLine Discovery Dry Bag 10L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 9.7 oz for 10L.Checked September 27, 2026
- Watershed Ocoee 10.5L: Duffel-style bag with ZipDry closure, hard lash points and compression straps; manufacturer lists IP68 protection.
Maker page for Watershed Ocoee 10.5L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Watershed Ocoee 10.5L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
Duffel-style bag with ZipDry closure, hard lash points and compression straps; manufacturer lists IP68 protection.Checked September 27, 2026
- Watershed Ocoee 10.5L: Maker lists 9 H x 16 W x 8 D in rolled dimensions, not empty packed size.
Maker page for Watershed Ocoee 10.5L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Watershed Ocoee 10.5L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 9 H x 16 W x 8 D in rolled dimensions, not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- Watershed Ocoee 10.5L: Maker lists 1.5 lb.
Maker page for Watershed Ocoee 10.5L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Watershed Ocoee 10.5L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 1.5 lb.Checked September 27, 2026
- YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case: Flat gear case with HydroShield magnetic and hook-and-loop closure, RF-welded seams and attachment points; maker calls it waterproof but does not state a submersion rating.
Maker page for YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
Flat gear case with HydroShield magnetic and hook-and-loop closure, RF-welded seams and attachment points; maker calls it waterproof but does not state a submersion rating.Checked September 27, 2026
- YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case: Maker lists 13.5 W x 2.8 D x 9.8 H in exterior dimensions; no empty folded packed size.
Maker page for YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 13.5 W x 2.8 D x 9.8 H in exterior dimensions; no empty folded packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case: Maker lists 1.07 lb empty.
Maker page for YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
YETI SideKick Dry 6L Gear Case official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 1.07 lb empty.Checked September 27, 2026
- ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L: Lightweight roll-top internal dry bag rated IP64 by ORTLIEB, meaning splash protection rather than submersion.
Maker page for ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
Lightweight roll-top internal dry bag rated IP64 by ORTLIEB, meaning splash protection rather than submersion.Checked September 27, 2026
- ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L: Maker lists 32 cm closed height and 22 cm diameter for 12L; not empty packed size.
Maker page for ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 32 cm closed height and 22 cm diameter for 12L; not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L: Maker datasheet lists 70 g for 12L.
Maker page for ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
ORTLIEB Dry-Bag Light 12L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker datasheet lists 70 g for 12L.Checked September 27, 2026
- Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L: Rectangular 40D recycled-nylon roll-top sack with D-ring; Osprey rates it IPX5 and explicitly non-submersible.
Maker page for Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
Rectangular 40D recycled-nylon roll-top sack with D-ring; Osprey rates it IPX5 and explicitly non-submersible.Checked September 27, 2026
- Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L: Maker lists 6.69 H x 8.66 W x 13.78 D in product dimensions, not empty packed size.
Maker page for Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 6.69 H x 8.66 W x 13.78 D in product dimensions, not empty packed size.Checked September 27, 2026
- Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L: Maker lists 0.101 lb.
Maker page for Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Osprey Ultralight Dry Sack 12L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
Maker lists 0.101 lb.Checked September 27, 2026
- Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L: 500D PVC roll-top bag with D-rings and an included adjustable shoulder strap for the 10L size.
Maker page for Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L official product page · construction field in retained official-source note.
500D PVC roll-top bag with D-rings and an included adjustable shoulder strap for the 10L size.Checked September 27, 2026
- Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L: The maker size guide is graphical; accessible product text does not give a reliable empty packed dimension for 10L.
Maker page for Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L official product page · packed-size field in retained official-source note.
The maker size guide is graphical; accessible product text does not give a reliable empty packed dimension for 10L.Checked September 27, 2026
- Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L: The maker does not state a 10L bag weight in accessible product text.
Maker page for Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L; verify the exact size and current closure instructions.
Earth Pak Original Waterproof Dry Bag 10L official product page · weight field in retained official-source note.
The maker does not state a 10L bag weight in accessible product text.Checked September 27, 2026